Bunny Waffles

We Will Rock You: Part I

Music is a huge part of my life, and on those cold winter days where the wind whips through your hair on your way to work, and the rain is sometimes trying to rip your eyes out, as it does occasionally, the greatest joy can be found in losing yourself entirely within music; those particular songs, those lyrics which melt the world into non-existence. I thought today I would share some of my favourite songs with you, the kind of songs that make your heart beat out of your chest and make your mind crumble under the pressure of unfathomable epicness. Plus, I haven’t ever really done a ‘musical favourites’ post before- maybe you and I are quite similar, even beyond the insanity and desire to watch SpongeBob for hours on end whilst forming slippers from stolen human skin- maybe we also love the same kind of music. Or not. Either way, it’s good to ramble on.

Click on the titles for links to the songs… I hope you enjoy!
.

Against Me!, Thrash Unreal

I love the upbeat tempo of this song, it’s the kind of tune that makes it beautifully easy to flail around on the dance floor. But there are also some utterly poignant lyrics that are so relatable they steal my breath away each time I hear them, ‘They don’t know nothing about recovery, some people just aren’t the type for marriage and family.’
.

Alexisonfire, Happiness by the Kilowatt

Based on the Vonnegut story the Euphio Question, this song holds such a special place in my heart. It’s the palpitating drums that create an almost dream-like state, and the haunting vocals which are so devastating. This takes me away to another place, utterly beautiful. ‘So this is continuous happiness? You know, I always imagined it something more.’
.

Amanda Palmer, Runs in the Family

I adore Amanda Palmer and have an overwhelming desire to molest her eyebrows. This song from her album Who Killed Amanda Palmer? always grabs me by the lapels and makes me want to run around screaming. I don‘t know why I am the way I am, and she straightens everything out for me, if only for a few minutes. ‘If wellness is this, what in Hell’s name is sickness? But business is business, and business runs in the family.’
.

Animal Alpha, Even When I’m Wrong, I’m Right

I have the hugest girl crush on Agnete Kjolsrud of Djerv, formerly of Animal Alpha. She writes unbelievably sinister and sexual songs; she is so unique and I have never known a voice to create such anticipation in my body as hers. When you hear her, you can’t help but think that she is plotting something so utterly disturbing, and I love it. ‘She will make it look like you accidentally shot yourself in the anus.’
.

Emilie Autumn, Shalott

The wonderfully talented Emilie Autumn. Here features the first of the songs I admire for the quasi-historical, literature-based aspect of the lyrics; Autumn depicts the story of the lady of Shalott, a poem penned by Tennyson. The song is complete with pitch changes and incredible electric-violinning- story telling at it’s exhilaratingly delirious best. ‘Everyone else can watch as their dreams untie, so why can’t I?’
.

Every Time I Die, Turtles All the Way Down

Anyone who knows me even vaguely, you know the type of people- the ones who live in my wheelie bin and film me from a distance- knows how much I love ETID. Words fail slightly in my description of why I love this song, though it personifies everything that I love about the band; it isn’t just screaming, therein lies philosophy, literature… and lyrics which ingrain into my skin. ‘The gravity of the battle means nothing to those at peace, I can’t believe I thought my thoughts meant anything.’

.

… and I’ve just realised there are far too many songs to just fit into one post, and I wouldn’t want your bladders to explode because you have been sat at the computer for too long… Part II coming soon!

This entry was published on November 23, 2012 at 21:45. It’s filed under Ear Pleasure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “We Will Rock You: Part I

  1. Ah yeah, I really like the Singer in Thrash Unreal… Really like this song, found it after I found the Tegan collaboration song a while back… He’s getting a sex change isn’t he? just a side note, Lol

    Ah yeah, Alexisonfire is Awesome… Reminds me of my Step Brother’s Band… Clean, Soulful, Driving Music… It definitely penetrates on a bunch of levels

    Ah yeah (<—that's the third sentence I've started with Ah Yeah, hmm) I remember Amanda Palmer and this video, I think you may have shared back in the "Forums Were Cool" days, Lol She's Cool and Interesting for sure

    Ah yeah (4th time), you may have shared some Agnete Kjolsrud on the Forums as well… She definitely cool

    Emilie Autumn is cool… I really like her… Can you sing Anna?

    ETID, Very Cool… I'm not sure if I'm familiar with them

    DJ-

    Like

    • You’re right, Thomas Gabel of Against Me is becoming Laura Jane Grace, and I think it’s absolutely amazing 🙂 Have you ever heard ‘The Ocean’ by Against Me? The first time I heard it I couldn’t help but be overwhelmed by how beautiful the notion was of a man wishing to become a woman, though I didn’t take it literally. When the story came out about the sex change it somehow just made listening to the song even more incredible. ‘If I could have chosen, I would have been born a woman, my mother once told me she would have named me Laura…’ – absolutely beautiful. It’s one of my favourite songs, it was a close choice between The Ocean and Thrash Unreal.

      And thanks for the comments about the other songs! You should definitely listen to ETID, they are rather epic.

      Like

    • Listening to “The Ocean” Now, Awesome

      His Voice makes me think of a “Voice of a Revolution”, if a Revolution had a Voice, Hee Hee

      Pretty Incredible Guy… Er… Gal, Lol

      DJ-

      Like

  2. Pingback: Scale by Keith Buckley: a Review – Bunny Waffles

Leave a Comment

